Club & Activities

Club & Activity Name Contact Link Grade Level Description
Adventure Club Grant Hopper & Andrea Klimpke ghopper@sd129.org aklimpke@sd129.org 6, 7 & 8 Adventure Club is designed to promote teamwork and a culture of support and encouragement for students who are into athletic activities, but may not be interested in sports. Adventure Club hosts activities like dodgeball, ultimate Frisbee, and rock climbing.
Art Club Sam Oulavong soulavong@sd129.org 6, 7 & 8 WMS Art Club and Anime Club is open to any creative souls who enjoy art or Japanese anime. By joining WMS Art Club and Anime Club students will have an opportunity to meet others with similar interests. WMS Art Club and Anime Club also fulfills a number of other functions, such as helping students increase their knowledge of the arts and providing an outlet for students to express their creativity. Students will learn techniques by exploring the different types of art mediums.
Athletics Athletic Director Colin Danzinger http://il.8to18.com/washington/ 6, 7 & 8 See Athletics page in Popular Links
Band Mary Thompson & Chuck Garland mthompson@sd129.org cgarland@sd129.org 6, 7 & 8 Band is a curricular class that is open to students who have successfully completed the previous year of band or who have completed a successful audition with one of the band directors. 6th graders perform in two concerts each year and 7th & 8th graders perform in three concerts each year. The 8th grade band also participates in two competitions. In addition to a daily band class during the school day, all bands meet before school one day per week for a full band rehearsal. Open to all grade
Choir Valerie Heinkel vheinkel@sd129.org 6, 7 & 8 Early Morning Choir meets every Friday through December. It is an extracurricular choir with no fee that is open to all grade levels. Our practices culminate in two performances in December: one for the public on the Monday evening before winter break and one for the staff breakfast on the final Friday before break.
Drama/All School Play Valerie Heinkel & Larry Wredling vheinkel@sd129.org 6, 7 & 8 The All-School Musical requires no fee and is open to all grade levels. An informational meeting takes place the week before winter break in which all interested students receive a rehearsal and performance calendar. Rehearsals begin in January resulting in public performances at the end of April. There is a no cut policy. All interested students participate in creating the final product.
Generals Literature Club Elizabeth Lundeen elundeen@sd129.org 6, 7 & 8 Generals Literature Club Wednesday Mornings 8:15a.m. Open to 6th-8th Graders Student Helper for Book fairs and literacy nights Book Club Book Bites with Aurora Public Library (7th and 8th Grade Lunch Only) Create, Edit, format and publish the General Review
IMSA Fusion Ray Forestor rforestor@sd129.org 6, 7 & 8 IMSA Fusion is an after-school science and math enrichment program for highly motivated and talented students in science and mathematics. By design, the IMSA Fusion curriculum is inquiry based, problem-centered and integrative. The learning experiences focus on helping students "learn how to learn" and emphasize logic, mathematical thinking and experimental scientific thinking. Topics relate to the students' lives, increasing their curiosity and motivation to learn in mathematics and science.
P7 Bible Club Sarah Biewer sbiewer@sd129.org 6, 7 & 8 Does your life need illumination? Our Student-led P7 Bible Club meets every Friday in rm. 123. Come hang out with other positive-minded Generals on Fridays from 8-8:30 in the morning for inspiring discussion.
Speech & Debate Kelli Starck kstarck@sd129.org 6, 7 & 8 Speech and Debate Club is a place that gives students the opportunity to have their voices heard. We practice a lot of speaking and listening skills through impromptu speeches, debates, radio speakings, prose and poetry readings, as well duet speeches ("Who's on First" anyone?). Speech and Debate Club is also a place that supports students that participate in the Modern Woodman Speech Contest. The club meets every Thursday morning in Mr. Perez's room 127 at 8:00.
Stand for the Silent Vickie Mayo vmayo@sd129.org 6, 7 & 8  
Student Council Lynn Taylor ltaylor@sd129.org 6, 7 & 8 Student Council provides leadership opportunities for 8th grade Board Members and 6th, 7th and 8th grade representatives. Student Council members represent their SLC classes and promote the General Way. Members strive to respond to student issues and create student activities that promote enthusiasm and school spirit.